SCRANTON, May 7, 2020 – Elected officials at the state, county and local level today announced the formation of the bipartisan Regional Recovery Task Force (RRTF).

The following is a joint statement from the members of the RRTF:

“Across our region and around the globe, we are facing an unprecedented public health and economic crisis – the depth and complexities of which we’ve never seen and we’ve never known. COVID-19 has changed the way we live, the way we work and the way we communicate. It does not, however, diminish our resolve to come together to see our communities and our residents through this global pandemic.

Today, we are announcing the formation of a Regional Recovery Task Force (RRTF) to ensure we are ready for the eventual reopening of our economy and that we are positioned to aggressively pursue and obtain any additional state or federal funding that should be invested in our communities and our people. This bipartisan Task Force will be a unified and collective voice on behalf of Lackawanna County residents and businesses.

The Task Force will meet frequently and routinely, and we will be planning and setting forth near- and long-term goals. The health and safety of Lackawanna County residents will, however, remain our top priority. We will continue to monitor the guidelines and policy directives set forth by Governor Tom Wolf, the Pennsylvania Department of Health and the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

The Regional Recovery Task Force includes our state Senator; five state Representatives who represent portions of Lackawanna County; three Lackawanna County Commissioners; the Mayor of Scranton; and the President of the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce.  The Task Force will actively engage a number of other business leaders in our financial services and health care industries as well as public safety and community and economic development professionals.

The Regional Recovery Task Force will focus the attention of experts and stakeholders via six separate work groups to address critical and interrelated sectors of our economy. These work groups include: Public Health, Workforce, Business Assistance/Finance, Education, Strategic Planning and Marketing.

We look forward to working together on behalf of all residents of Lackawanna County to ensure that our region, our businesses and our residents are prepared to act when directives and guidelines for reopening are issued.

It will be a long road to recovery, but together, we will lead our communities and our people back to a place of health and prosperity.”

Members of the Regional Recovery Task Force include:

State Senator John P. Blake, 22nd Senatorial District
State Representative Kyle Mullins, 112th District
State Representative Marty Flynn, 113th District
State Representative Bridget Kosierowski, 114th District
State Representative Karen Boback, 117th District
State Representative Mike Carroll, 118th District
Jerry Notarianni, Lackawanna County Commissioner
Debi Domenick, Lackawanna County Commissioner
Chris Chermak, Lackawanna County Commissioner
Paige G. Cognetti, Mayor of Scranton
Bob Durkin, President, Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce